UofT Home
Text size: Text size: small (default)Text size: mediumText size: large
Other Campuses: UTM or UTSC

Search Chemistry website:   

Colloquium Schedule | Upcoming Events

A Big Welcome to our New Graduate Students!


Both Yunfeng Li and Lisa Willis are Recipients of a Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship Award

Both Yunfeng Li and Lisa Willis are Recipients of a Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship Award

These are prestigious Postdoctoral Fellowships, created in memory of Sir Frederick Banting, the Canadian physician, researcher, Nobel laureate and war hero who, together with his assistant Dr. Charles Best, is credited with the discovery of insulin. Yunfeng Liís research interests are in polymer materials science and microfluidics, with a focus on developing combinatorial libraries of artificial polymer cellular microenvironments to study stem cell differentiation to treat tissue injury and organ failure. Lisa Willis is researching cell motility in cancer, as many cancers have developed a way to break tight connections between cells, allowing them to move freely. In order for this to occur, cells coat their surface with a special molecule, called PSA. Using a chemical biology approach to determine both where and when this non-stick PSA coating appears will provide scientists with new targets for chemotherapy. Congratulations Yunfeng and Lisa!

In the News:

This is Your Brain on Art

This is Your Brain on Art

Metaforming Nature, at the Boulder Museum of Contemporary Art, is the result of a collaboration between art scientist Todd Siler and nanoscientist Geoffrey Ozin, which began with a shared interest in how the integration of art and science can generate innovative frameworks for a sustainable future. With the global population predicted to reach 9.6 billion by 2050, accompanied by mounting demand for fossil fuels to spur economic growth, the fate of humankind seems tenuous at best. Ozinís research into nanochemistry, however, suggests an antidote to the fear of environmental collapse and mass extinction. If nanotechnology can mimic a process like photosynthesis in plants then carbon dioxide ceases to be a noxious gas and becomes a resource. Silerís art gives form to these concepts, particularly how the brain interacts with nature as it connects and transforms everything nature creates in personally meaningful and purposeful ways. For further information is available here and at: www.artnanoinnovations.com

Support Chemistry

Quick Links:

Graduate StudentGraduate Studies
Course Timetable 2014/15
Seminar Series
Program Guide for MSc and PhD
Grad Studies Application Deadlines:
International applicants - Dec 5 New
Domestic applicants - Feb 1 New
Chem Club

Latest Covers:

The cover picture illustrates the performance of Nb3O7(OH), a new hydrogen evolution catalyst: Under solar illumination photo-generated holes are scavenged by methanol while the reduction of protons to hydrogen is kinetically hindered. Thus the electrons remain in the conduction band and/or trap states turning the photocatalyst deep blue. The deposition of metal particles on the surface introduces a new reaction side, which now is able to overcome the kinetic barrier. Subsequently hydrogen is...

For more Publication Covers:
View other archived covers!